Intervju på hollänska www.rockpics.nl

För en liten tiden sedan så fick jag en förfrågan från hollänska hårdrocks websidan www.rockpics.nl om jag kände för att göra en liten intervju för dem. Självklart var svaret från min sida. Så här är den:

05.09.2009 Interview with Andreas Carlsson from Denied

A little while ago i wrote a short review of the new demo from the Swedish band "Denied", after this review I had the oppertunity to interview Andreas Carlsson, guitarist from Denied.


Can you introduce Denied to the readers?

Denied is a heavy metal band from Upplands Väsby, right outside Stockholm/ Sweden and was formed in 2004 by guitarist Andreas Carlsson. If you’re a fan of classic heavy metal you will definitely love Denied. The band line-up is: new singer Johan Fahlberg (Jaded Heart), bass player Robert Stellmar, drummer Pete Dolls and myself (Andreas Carlsson on guitar).

I’ve heard the 3 demo songs with new Denied vocalist Johan Fahlberg (Jaded Heart). And it sounds really good. Can you tell some more about Johan joining the band?

When we released our second demo “The New Army For The Old Revolution” autumn 2008, the band split with the former singer and we had a release party coming up, then our drummer Pete suggested we should call his old long time friend Johan Fahlberg, to be able to do the performance. The evening went out to be a huge success, and since then he is a full time band member.

Johan’s other band (Jaded Heart) is from Duisburg, Germany, isn’t it difficult to combine these two bands for him?

So far we had no issues that Johan also sings with Jaded Heart. But of course, if we are very unlucky our plans could collide. If it should happen we will find a solution for that. I feel that it is not a problem for him to be a part of the two bands.

In the past Denied already released some demo’s/CD’s. Can you tell me something more about the songs on it?

We released our first demo “Seven Times Your Sin” in May 2005, this album was more melodic and it actually included two ballads! I really love all the songs on this record, but today we only play the title track live. Because that song represents how we sound today. On album number two “The New Army For The Old Revolution” we took the sound to a darker and heavier direction. Actually, there was no plan to take the bands music to another direction. It just felt right at that time and I believe that we made a good “decision”.

Where do you find your experience to write songs?

I have been a metal fan all my life, I can really say that I have the music in my veins. I put the power on my Marshall amp and then the songs just comes to me. Yes, but of course my biggest influence comes from bands like Iced Earth, Fight, Halford had some impact on me.

Do you have any idea what the future plans are for Denied? What can we expect the next months/years?

For the moment, we are working very hard to get a record deal. That’s step number one. We also in the process of writing new songs that hopefully will be available within the next couple of months. I can tell you that the new tracks will definitely kills! Next year we are gonna focus on festivals and other shows. We will see what happens. But the future looks really really good for us.

Is there a tour or some shows in the planning? Will you then visit some other European countries besides Sweden?

A performance at Ballroom/Hamburg later this year is planned, but the date has not been confirmed yet.

Do you play in other bands or do you have other projects next to Denied?

Actually, me and Pete Dolls play in a band called D`Revolt with a couple of friends, only for fun. The lyrics are in Swedish and the music is a mix of punk, rock and metal. We only play when we have some spare time.

What is your most favourite song ever from another band then Denied?

I could say a million songs, but if I have to pick one I would say “Raise Your Fist” from the album “Under Jolly Roger” with my favourite band of all time Running Wild.

Is there an artist with who you really would love to play a gig?

During the fact that Running Wild recently quit playing, then I say Iced Earth.

Is there anything you want to add to this interview or some last words??

Make sure to keep your eyes open for the next heavy metal sensation from Stockholm/Sweden - DENIED!

 

Thanks a lot for your time and keep up the good work!!
Suzanne - Rockpics


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0